hello new zealand, revisiting my first trip

my first trip to new zealand was in 2007, with my best friend. it was one of those epic, coming of age trip, that leaves you forever changed. i read through my blogposts during those times, and i realise, i went there without any idea of what it would be like, with only the assurance of my best friend that she would not forget to come and pick me up from the airport. (She left the week before i did). i went with a heavy heart. see, there was this boy who told me in no uncertain terms, he wanted more than this “dating” limbo we found ourselves in. he said to me, let go of all the hurt, and let him love me. i was so hesitant, because i had barely put my heart back together from a previous relationship, then gave it to someone else that was never to be mine, and now, i didn’t quite dare to fall in love again. i told this sweet boy, i’ll tell him when i come back.

let me show you, dear reader. this place i ran to, when i needed to sort myself out.

everywhere a postcard.

and mind you, these photos were taken by either the hufflepuff or myself with a simple point and click digital camera. unedited.

P1030918 P1030933OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA P1030917 P1030913 P1030908 P1030847 P1030932 P1030945

we celebrated my birthday, in a little tavern, where my best friend nearly singed my eyebrows off. see, she brought these long candles, and carted them around in her luggage throughout our trip. and the waitstaff at the restaurant tied them up cos they couldnt stand straight. all 22 of them. (i’ve included this photo, my hufflepuff, because i know you will have a giggle fit over it. )

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

so i came back, on the 24th of dec 2007, and i told the boy who picked me from the airport, almost with tears in both our eyes, that yes, we will give it a shot. nearly a year ago, i married that boy in a simple ceremony amongst friends and family. where else, would he have brought me for our honeymoon?

Published by

c

my world, out of your reach

Leave a Reply

